Expect At Chloe…
page-template-default,page,page-id-463,stockholm-core-1.2.1,select-theme-ver-5.2.1,ajax_fade,page_not_loaded,side_area_uncovered,wpb-js-composer js-comp-ver-6.2.0,vc_responsive
Title Image





Celery is commonly used as a spice in processed foods (e.g., soups, broths, salad dressings) but is also consumed as a vegetable. Interestingly, a high prevalence of celery allergy is observed in regions where celery is commonly consumed as a raw vegetable and is often associated with pollen allergy.



Nutritionally speaking, almost half of the calories in whole milk come from fat, and nearly all of its carbohydrates come from sugar—all of it in the form of lactose, which people with EoE can’t properly digest. Worse yet, the fat in dairy products is every bit as saturated as the fat in beef. Dairy also has absolutely no fiber or iron.



It is not easy to find gluten-free eggs. Experts estimate that two percent of the population suffers from egg allergies. An egg allergy is a sensitivity to the proteins in the yolk or white of the egg. This allergy is so serious it can result in anaphylactic shock.




Free from wheat or derivatives of wheat such as rye, barley, triticale, malt in various forms including, malted barley flour, malted milk or milkshakes, malt extract, malt syrup, malt flavoring, malt vinegar, and brewer’s yeast.




Lupin (sometimes called “lupine”) is a legume belonging to the same plant family as peanuts.





The mustard in the familiar jars we see on supermarket shelves is made by grinding the seeds of the mustard plant and mixing them with water, vinegar or other liquids. Other ingredients can be added, such as sugar, salt, and wheat flour.




A peanut allergy is different from a tree nut allergy. Symptoms range from itchiness, swelling or asthma too more serious issues like a drop in blood pressure or cardiac arrest. Peanut-free foods do not contain peanuts, peanut butter, peanut oil or any form of peanuts at all! Food packaging labeled with may contain or trace amounts of should be treated like it does contain peanuts.



Listed as one of the Top 8 food allergens, a fish allergy is one to know. Fish allergies are not the same, nor even in the same family as a shellfish allergy. A fish allergy comprises what is called “finned fish”; i.e., salmon, tuna, flounder, etc.




The allergens in sesame are similar in structure to those in peanuts, so the risk of also having an allergy to peanuts if you are allergic to sesame is quite high and should be investigated. This type of cross-reactivity is also true for sesame allergens and rye, kiwi, poppy seed and certain tree nuts (cashew, hazelnut, macadamia, pistachio, and walnut).



Soybeans are commonly used in many processed foods, and soy allergies are becoming more and more common. Those with stomach troubles should steer clear of soy because may trigger digestive issues.


Food Allergen Labeling and Consumer Protection Act of 2004 (the Act).


According to the FDA, “while more than 160 foods can cause allergic reactions in people with food allergies, the law identifies the eight most common allergenic foods –Milk, Eggs, Fish, Shellfish, Tree Nuts, Peanuts, Wheat and Soybeans. These foods account for 90 percent of food allergic reactions and are the food sources from which many other ingredients are derived.” As you can see Chloe Vegan Foods strives to go beyond the most common food allergens to help ensure our products are delicious and safe!